Home > Uncategorized > Now that I’ve had a prostate exam, I’m going to Disneyland

Now that I’ve had a prostate exam, I’m going to Disneyland

I just came back from my annual physical this morning and am glad to report a clean bill of health.  My blood pressure was 114/72.  Doesn’t get much better than that.  I could stand to lose an extra ten pounds but frankly, for a 52 year-old guy, I’m not doing too badly.  My doctor did want to know how much I drink.  They always want to know how much you drink.

I lied.

There is a reason men don’t like to go to the doctor and I’ll tell you why.  It’s a lot like taking the car to a mechanic: you just know they’re going to find something really expensive and you’re never going to get your old parts back.

My doctor is a woman too, by the way, which is a little weird for me because it’s sort of like having my mom checking under the hood.

“Mitchell, where have you been?  What have you been doing?  Well, now I’m going to have to palpate your testicles.”

I’ve been seeing this particular doctor since we moved here in 2005 and the first time I went in, she asked me the question all men dread: “When was the last time you had your prostate checked?”

The last time I’d had my prostate checked was when I had surgery in 1997 and I was knocked out cold.  As it should be.  We’re talking about an output device here.  Not an input/output device.

Strictly.

Output.

Device.

So she gave me the standard boilerplate lecture.  You know.  One out of every five men will develop prostate cancer and blah, blah, blah…

So I said okay.  Let’s do this.  But you have to promise me something.  She asked, “What’s that?”

I said, “You have to promise me that when we’re done here, you will write me a note, that I can take home to my wife, that says you have personally checked, and my head is not up there.”

  1. May 5, 2012 at 1:22 am

    I HATE the doctor! Well, not personally, but going I mean!

    • May 5, 2012 at 4:54 am

      Most men do. Thanks for your comments! Tell you friends about us and stay tuned!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

